UKBouldering.com

(newby)bicept elbow area pain (Read 3801 times)

legin

(newby)bicept elbow area pain
February 18, 2011, 06:53:15 pm
 ;) im new to bouldering and have developed a dull pain where my bicept muscle intersects with my elbow,ive had tendonitis in my forearm years ago and it feels similar.
i have allways weight trained and for my back do chin ups so its not like i havent got the upper strength.
any hints or tips from you regular guys on strength training or technique would be apreciated as im really enjoying my new found sport but my arm is holding me back

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#1 Re: (newby)bicept elbow area pain
February 19, 2011, 12:06:45 am
It may be that you strained your brachialis. I got rid of mine by icing it. I froze water in yoghurt pots and pressed and rubbed the ice into the source of pain each night before bed.

gremlin

• stalker
  • Ripped, but still shit!
    • Java shit
#2 Re: (newby)bicept elbow area pain
February 19, 2011, 08:27:09 am
Did you stop or reduce the amount you were climbing while you were icing, shark?

bobber

#3 Re: (newby)bicept elbow area pain
February 19, 2011, 09:48:45 am
This isn't what I expected but I found that my bicep tendon issues got better when I started doing one armers. My thinking on this is that lowering down from a one armer is an eccentric bicep contraction. Maybe try eccentric bicep curls?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2011, 09:54:14 am by bobber »

shark

• Administrator
  • forum hero
  • insect overlord #1
#4 Re: (newby)bicept elbow area pain
February 19, 2011, 03:25:15 pm
Did you stop or reduce the amount you were climbing while you were icing, shark?

No.