UKBouldering.com

Calling of The Barbecue (Read 131287 times)

Mr Cat

• menacing presence
    • Flickr
#25 Re: Calling of The Barbecue
May 26, 2009, 11:30:42 am
well, I used to work as a dishwasher when i was younger and one of the chefs there (not the brightest of blokes...) used to eat the burnt bacon saying that he couldn't give it to the customers due to the carcagenics (?) in it...but I was young and naive....and he did have a very large waistline... :D

DaveC

• junky
  • Old skool...with emphasis on the "old".
#26 Re: Calling of The Barbecue
May 26, 2009, 11:43:20 am
Barbecue season? ???
All year round isn't it? :whistle:

Don't worry, never took me coat off in't first place!

Obi-Wan is lost...

• forum hero
#27 Re: Calling of The Barbecue
May 26, 2009, 02:14:04 pm
Aren't there negative health issues w/ non-gas BBQ's?  Never been fully explained to me, tho' the father-in-law won't use one (a solid fuel BBQ that is); words like cancer have been heard; maybe this is charred food?

Anything burnt is supposed to give you cancer, burnt toast is the classic one! The tip is don't burn it in the first place, if you read anything on barbecuing (there are tons of US sites dedicated to 'grilling', I'm not THAT into it honest  :-[) you'll learn quickly 'it's all about the lid'. Without one it's almost impossible to control the heat. The worse are disposable bbq's, meat only a few millimetres from the coals= guaranteed instant charring and raw on the inside. A decent kettle with a close fitting lid and an air inlet and chimney/air outlet you have total control. If you want you can put it out in about 5mins.

The Cobb I mentioned previously is the ultimate in terms of controlled heat. Fixed air inlet and outlet, light the 6 brickettes as instructed and you get two hours of perfect heat, no burning/charring. Perfectly cooked whole roast chicken so it's a myth that you can't cook well on a BBQ.